Yesterday I ate a salan* that was so spicy, I think I ate half a container of yogurt just to finish a few spoonfuls. It was capsicum qeema, or basically a lot of green chilis and a little bit of ground beef. So when my husband offered to take me to KFC, I was very excited. I thought my mouth deserved a break from the desi food with a classic from the colonel.
| The fries weren't spicy. Too bad we weren't interested in eating them. |
Sorry to say, it was not what I expected. I haven't been to a KFC in a while but I'm pretty sure that what we ate wasn't anything close to original recipe. I did manage to get some corn on the cob, though--a definite win.
Again tonight, Umer ordered some pizza from Pizza Hut and I thought, yay, American food. I was trying to put Zakariyya to sleep when it arrived so he brought me up a plate of what he called "desi pizza." I thought he said that just because it had some spicy meat and a lot of onions on it.
Nope.
In place of the tomato sauce was something else that after about one slice practically turned me into a fire-breathing dragon. Is there no relief?
This, I'm sure, is why so many of my friends underestimate my spice tolerance--so I don't leave with a lot of burning in my mouth and little food in my tummy to show for it. And special props to my mother-in-law for all the awesome salans that are always at just the right spice level. Ammi Jee knows best!
*I guess a salan is what a curry is… I really don't know how else to translate it. It's the spicy meaty saucy good stuff that you eat with roti (flat bread) or rice.
| This sign was posted at the KFC. It says they condemn the blasphemous film about the Prophet (pbuh.) |
No comments:
Post a Comment